iPOD Classic

iPOD Classic
iPod Classic

I have been using an mp3 player to listen to music while walking outside, or traveling or generally will not being home for many years. To begin with I bought my first mp3 playing discman, made by Sony around 2001, though it was kind of big I would take it with me wherever I was going, I even used it to listen to music at the breaks while I was still at school. I really used it to much, but the size was always a real problem, like every portable compact disc player, so I have to get some kind of container to carry it with me almost all the time. After becoming a university student, I decided to replace it with something smaller. I have an iPOD in my mind too then, not the largest model though, but due to the cost, I finally got the Creative MuVO V200 model with 512MB of memory.

Generally I didn’t have many problems with it, well except a problem with the FM tuner, which I actually rarely used. However with time passing and with more disk size getting available, the same happened to my music collection. However that’s not the only point, around 2001-2005 I would get mp3s encoded at bitrates around 128kbps, but as I stated before with more space getting available, I started to prefer encodings with higher bitrate, starting from 192kbps, with a large part of my collection being encoded at 320kbps CBR, and many other around 256kbps VBR. All this means that the size of each album got greater too, in compare with the size of music a few years in the past.

Another thing is that I am kind of random with my music tastes, I am sure that someone can understand it easily if he looks at the overall charts of my last.fm music profile, so the point is that 512 of space is really small, and I have to change music almost every day when I am in the city, but the greatest problem is at the times I get away for some days. Also I always liked the design of the iPOD, I used for a while an older hdd model a friend had, and is really nice. The only problem at the moment is again that of money, because I try to save money for the upcoming trip in Japan. Well, after getting the tickets I will think it over to see if there is any way to get it. It would be really nice, because a portable music player is almost always one of the things I get with my when I get out.

Leave a Reply

