Nah Not for me…

Well this so far was my best experience with Gentoo after all these years that I try to mesh around with various linux distributions. I honestly can’t call myself an expert, however through these years I gained some experience by meshing around and through an Operating Systems course (focused around UNIX/Linux and bash shell) I attended a year ago. I have to admit that it was one of the most interesting lessons I have attended lately. So this time I was able to reach the desktop stage… I could launch GDM and use Firefox and stuff… It is the first time I reached that far. Usually something would go wrong while compiling the packages or even while setting up the base system.

However even this time things didn’t go exactly as I intended. So first of all, I was unable to get my Creative Audigy soundcard working, so there was no sound for me. I tried reconfiguring and recompiling the kernel, first using the audigy driver as a part of the kernel, and then compiling it as a module… obviously I was doing something wrong because I didn’t manage to modprobe the audigy (emu10k1) driver module. Probably I didn’t study enough to get it done properly. Secondly I was unable to get the crappy fglrx module loaded with the kernel. After using modprobe fglrx there was always the same error, something like the following:

FATAL: Error inserting fglrx (/lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r5/video/fglrx.ko): Operation not permitted

I found some suggestions online on what should I do in that case but after messing around with the kernel for a while, I was still unable to get it working. So after spending some serious time to play around with Gentoo I will try again to setup a proper ArchLinux system. Even if it is not as easy as distributions like Ubuntu, OpenSUSE or Mandriva, in the installation I am sure it is easier and faster than Gentoo… I ll guess I will postpone Gentoo for sometime in the future. Either way it was a good experience. I still learned on thing or two with this thing.

Leave a Reply

